Jays' Marcus Stroman earns first Gold Glove award

Jays' Marcus Stroman earns first Gold Glove award

Jays' Marcus Stroman earns first Gold Glove award

Heyward leads all outfielders in defensive runs saved with 138 since 2010. He was seeking to become the first Detroit infielder to win back-to-back Gold Gloves since Lou Whitaker (1983-1985). Cain has never won a Gold Glove.

Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc., and ESPN announced tonight that outfielder Alex Gordon and first baseman Eric Hosmer have each been honored with American League Rawlings Gold Glove Awards. He won his first Gold Glove with the Braves in 2012 and earned the award with the Cardinals in 2015 before signing with the Cubs before the 2016 season.

Catcher Salvador Perez was up for his fifth straight award, but the voters chose the Angels' Martin Maldonado, who was in his first full season as a team's starting catcher. Hosmer is tied with the Dodgers' Adrian Gonzalez for most Gold Gloves among active first basemen.

The awards mark the 31st and 32nd in Royals history, which have been claimed by 13 different players. Reds catcher Tucker Barnhart and Marlins left fielder Marcell Ozuna also won for the first time.

Dozier, 30, played in 152 games, and committed just five errors in 674 total chances. That 52-game errorless streak was the longest of his career, but then after that miscue finished the season with another 57 consecutive scoreless defensive apps to establish another career best.

Winners are determined using a combination of advanced metrics (25 percent) and coach and manager voting (75 percent).

Major League Baseball announced the winners of the award - which recognizes a player at each position's defensive abilities throughout the season - on Tuesday night.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]