Baker Mayfield wins Heisman Trophy

Baker Mayfield wins Heisman Trophy

Baker Mayfield wins Heisman Trophy

Baker Mayfield was awarded the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night at the PlayStation Theater in Manhattan.

The Sooners' fifth-year senior broke through after finishing third behind Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson last season and fourth in 2015 voting. His 15 votes were fourth-most - behind Mayfield, Love and Jackson - and the Nittany Lions ball-carrier also received the fourth-most second-place votes and third-most third-place votes.

Mayfield's win was solidified with the moments he enjoyed in big performances during victories over Ohio State, Texas, Oklahoma State and twice over TCU.

Mayfield led the Sooners to a third consecutive Big 12 championship with a 12-1 record, and a berth in the College Football Playoff next month.

The honor comes just hours after Mayfield also walked away from the College Football Awards Show with the Walter Camp Award, Maxwell Award, Davey O'Brien Award and Associated Press Player of the Year honors.

Mayfield threw for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns with five interceptions.

The Austin, Texas, native now leads the nation in passing efficiency, completion percentage and yards per pass attempt.

Love was bidding to become the second running back to win in three years but could not join former Alabama running back Derrick Henry (2015).

He has 129 career touchdown passes and 14,320 yards.

Jackson was trying to join Ohio State running back Archie Griffin (1974 and 1975) as the second repeat victor of the award.

Barkley finished with 304 total points and 15 first-place votes.

Related news

[an error occurred while processing the directive]